Choc Coconut Slice

 

I was browsing Pinterest for nothing in particular and came across a recipe for chocolate coconut slice. As soon as I saw the picture I recognized it. I had completely forgotten about this slice, but it was something my mother made quite often when I was a kid.

The kids were already in bed and after a double check of my pantry I confirmed I had all the ingredients so I made some. It turned out really yummy, although slightly different to how I remember it. I think mum used less coconut. I also decided to replace the butter that was required with coconut oil. Coconut oil is pretty great stuff and has so many uses. I’ve only recently started using it to cook with and this is the first time I’ve subbed it in my baking. I figured it would fit into this recipe well and I was right. My kids love it too.

IMG_4230

First you mix together the dry ingredients. Flour, brown sugar, baking powder and cocoa.

photo 1

Next you want to mix in the coconut oil and egg and stir until it comes together. It should be quite thick and not at all runny. Once you’ve done that you can go ahead and put it in your chosen baking dish. I used an 8 x 8 pyrex dish. Line your dish with baking paper and press the mixture down with your fingers like this.

photo 4

Now you put it in your oven and wait for about 20 minutes. You can start making the icing for the top while it bakes. Or, if you’re me, you can go upstairs and deal with your screaming 3 year old who won’t go sleep because she needs “one more cuddle and a kiss”. Then she needs “red lips”. After that it’s “I need my fan on”. Whatever. You get the idea. Basically she’s being a PITA and thinking up excuses to get attention.

So, when you get a spare second make that icing. It doesn’t take long. Just mix your icing sugar, some cocoa and some butter together in a mixing bowl. Then add your milk a little at a time until it seems a good consistency for spreading. Mine looked like this.

photo 1

Once your slice is firm to the touch and has that “I’m baked” smell, pull it out and spread that icing on. I didn’t wait for it to cool or remove it from the pan. Sprinkle the top with coconut and leave it to set for an hour in the fridge and you’re done. It should look like this.

photo 3

Oh, and one more thing. Please, please make sure you are using plain old desiccated coconut and not that hideous sweetened coconut that they sell here in the baking aisle in the USA. Those of you that live in the USA may not be familiar with it because it’s hard to find. I found it at Whole Foods and at Sprouts but not in my regular supermarket. This is what the Sprouts packet looks like.

photo 3

Recipe

Preheat oven to 350f

Line an 8 x 8 inch baking dish wish baking paper.

Ingredients

1 cup plain flour

1 cup desiccated coconut (plus extra 2 tbs to top)

1/2 cup brown sugar

1.5 tbs cocoa

1 tsp baking powder

1 egg

1/2 cup coconut oil

Icing

1 cup powdered sugar/icing sugar

1 tbs cocoa

2 tsp softened butter

1 – 2 tbs milk

Mix together the dry ingredients in a mixing bowl. Add the coconut oil and egg and stir until it comes together into a thick mixture. Press into your baking dish. Cook in oven for 20 minutes or until firm. Meanwhile, combine icing sugar, cocoa and butter. Add in milk a little at a time and stir until it becomes a good consistency for spreading. Once slice is out of the oven, leave in the pan and spread the icing mixture on top. Sprinkle with coconut when done. Leave to set in the fridge for an hour or on the bench for 2. Enjoy!

 

One thought on “Choc Coconut Slice

Leave a Reply

