Kid Approved Butter Bean Dip

Two posts in one day?! Why, yes. I’ve been meaning to post this recipe for a while and it just so happens I made it for afternoon tea, so what better time?

If your kids are anything like mine they want to eat.all.day. If I could only have a dollar for every “I’m huuuunnnnggrryyyy” or “can I have something else to eeeaaatt?” I’d be rich.
I don’t know why the last word has to be elongated and drawn out. It helps get the message across obviously. Definitely doesn’t make me more annoyed. Nope.

Thankfully they love fruit and eat a lot of it. But it just doesn’t fill them up. So I started making dip. From butter beans! Butter beans are healthy and filling and surprisingly super yummy. They’re also pretty inexpensive.

Here’s the ingredients I used today but really you can get creative and add in lots of other stuff. Sundried tomatoes are good. 🙂

IMG_1344.JPG

1 can of butter beans
1-2 tbs of sour cream
1 tsp garlic
2 tsp coriander
A shake of cumin
Drizzle of olive oil.

Put it in a food processor and blend it all up. Add a little more olive oil or sour cream if it’s a bit dry. I like to use my stick blender that comes with a bunch of attachments (including the food processor). It’s one of my favourite kitchen appliances and I use it all the time for all sorts of different things.

IMG_1346-0.JPG

This post is in no way sponsored by Electrolux either. I just love this thing.

Anyway, that’s all you do. Blend it and then serve it with crackers. My kids devoured the entire lot in under 10 minutes.

IMG_1354.JPG

IMG_1356.JPG

Leave a Reply

